Hungarian Vizsla Forums banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,
I have been reading "Cesar's Way" by Cesar Millan. This is my first time raising a puppy and so I wanted to make sure I followed a guideline that works well. I was wondering if anyone has read the book and your thoughts. Even if you have not read it but do know Millan's methods, I was wondering if you guys agree with it. I agree that dominance is needed, but as far as I am reading, it seems as though you can't really enjoy your dog. Please contribute your thoughts on Millan's methods and if it worked for you and your Vizsla. IF not, what techniques worked with your Vizsla to make you AND your Vizsla happy together. Thank you!

·
Registered
278 Posts
I haven’t read his books, only seen the TV series but based on that I think this book is much better: The Everything Dog Training and Tricks Book by Gerilyn J. Bielakiewicz. Don’t be put off by the title, it’s not simply about cute tricks but covers everything from when you bring a puppy home. Unfortunately for Merc, I only read it when he was 2.

I agree with you, some of Csear’s ideas make sense but he seems to use a lot of physical dominance methods, which I don’t think are a great idea. I’d rather my dog work with me than for me because he is scared of me. I also don’t always agree with how he interprets the dog’s body language but seeing as I don’t actually speak dog I guess we’ll never know who is right.

The positive reinforcement way works for me because it is more fun both for the dog and for me, it’s about building a relationship between you and your dog. It still involves setting boundaries for the dog, being consistent with the rules and all those sorts of things. The only difference is that you use only negative punishments (taking away the good things) not positive punishments (doing something he doesn’t like).

·
Registered
115 Posts