Hungarian Vizsla Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Everyone,

I have been lurking this forum for some time, but this is my first time posting! After a very long wait, my partner and I are taking home our very own Vizsla next month! We have done so much research on this breed and can't wait to pick up our pup :D

We were initially attracted to the Vizsla because of how high energy they were. We have met so many V's in our town that seem like they would be the perfect fit for our life style. My partner and I are ultramarathon runners who each exercise about 9-12 hours a week by gravel biking, trail running, and nordic skiing. We live in an outdoorsy town that for the most part is off-leash friendly so we can't wait to have a V tag along on these adventures with us once she is old enough.

We also both work from home with flexible work schedules. We think this will help with puppy training, but also plan on investing in a trainer and puppy classes. I have seen first hand how much energy Vizsla puppies have, so I know training is very important.

I grew up with border collies and red heelers, but Vizslas are such a unique breed! My question to everyone here is what is one thing that you wish you knew before taking home your Vizsla?

Sorry for the long post, I am just SO excited about our new addition.

·
Registered
29 Posts
Nothing really prepared us for the zoomies :) We read a lot about them, but actually living through them the first few months made me keep checking this forum to see if our pup was normal or if we somehow got a mental case. Knowing what they were, and how to just kind of stand back and let her go, made it actually fun at the end. She doesn't get them so much now, probably because we exercise her much more than we could at that age, being as it was winter and we had to be so careful pre-puppy vaccines. But yeah, my husband actually thought something was wrong with her.

·
Registered
131 Posts