Hungarian Vizsla Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,

I have an 8 month old Vizsla male on Prednisone for ear itching/scratching and ear infection. The dosage is pretty minimal, 10 mg 2 x per day for 3 days, 10 mg 1 x per day for 5 days, then 10 mg every other day for 2 weeks.

I am concerned because we are currently on the 3rd day of the 1x/day regimen and our dog has become very lethargic. Minimally wanting to play or do anything but lay around (remember this is an 8 month old Vizsla!). I realize that lethargy can be a symptom of prednisone usage, but I guess I need some reassurance that this will end when we completely ween him off the drug.

Has anyone else had this experience?

·
Registered
8 Posts
Let me go ahead and preface...I'm no Doctor. but I had to put Sammie on some pain killers b/c she tore her pads off playing with her brother in the swimming pool...extremely painfull. She just laid around for 3 days and I figured she needed the down time to heal - that's kind of how the body works. The day after she was off the meds...back to romping at full speed.

So I guess I would say enjoy the peace....while it lasts!! :) Hope your boy heals up quick...

·
Registered
220 Posts
I have to my V on Prednisone between Oct and March (spring-summer months here). Where we live is fairly humid and it turns out that she is allergic to the grass in my lawn! It took a couple of years to work out what was causing it. She scratches her belly and suck her elbows. I see lots of posts about food allergies etc and that it what people seem to think it is first. I actually think an active dog is less likely to get allergies. Dogs locked up at home on their own for long periods are the ones that suffer the most.