Hungarian Vizsla Forums banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I rescued a puppy from the shelter at 6 months of age which was said to be a Chocolate lab mix. But we have browsed many different breeds and are very curious as to what he could be mixed with. he is now 1 year and 75 pounds of lean muscle with a slender build. His body does not really look like a lab. We have come across a Vizsla owner and breeder and she is sure that he is mixed with Vizsla. I wanted to try the DNA tests you can buy.

Does anyone know of any Vizsla/Lab mixes? or what they would look like. So many people say Weimareiner or Rhodesian Ridgeback, But I studied breeds and he does not resemble the ridgeback. We thought the Weimareiner until we saw one in person. And then I came across the Vizsla and instantly when i saw the breed I thought about Trigger (our dog) Can anyone help me figure this out

·
Registered
599 Posts
75 lbs is larger than MOST Vizslas, so it'd either be a big bloodline or have to be mixed with something larger. I'd be interested in seeing a picture also.

·
Registered
599 Posts
kellski said:
There is a picture added to the photo gallery in "Other" im pretty sure.

http://www.vizslaforums.com/index.php?action=gallery;sa=view;pic=669
Ah, I always forget to check there!

If you didn't mention mix, I would have said he looks like a pure Vizsla. Obviously I can't guess what he's mixed with, since he looks so much like a Vizsla. Very good looking dog!

EDIT: Saw the other pic, obviously he's darker than a Vizsla but I still see a lot of Vizsla everywhere else on him. I think he's definitely got a lot of Vizsla in him.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Yes, He is darker, but it could be the chocolate lab in him, if thats even what he's really mixed with.

He came from alabama at 6 months with another female that looked exactly like him.

I saw the Vizsla body before I saw the face and I was like TRIGGER! lol