Hungarian Vizsla Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
599 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone, I have a Vizsla puppy, 10 weeks old today. I have had him for 10 days now.

I was just curious what I should be expecting as far as trainability at this age. This is my first dog so I'm kinda new at this. However, I've done a lot of research to try to prepare myself.

Behavior wise, I would say he's pretty good. He's pretty good about only going to the bathroom outside, and usually when he goes inside it could have been prevented (if I don't pick him up out of his crate he'll pee within 30 second probably). He's not the greatest walking on lead, sometimes I can't get his attention but usually when I have his attention he'll come eventually.

The main problem I have is with chewing and playing. He likes to get a hold of things he shouldn't. Mainly wires, since I have everything I can out of reach/hidden, but I can't do much about wires. I always stop him and give him a toy when he is doing this but that doesn't always hold his interest. He can also get to being pretty nippy when he is playing. With these issues, it seems he doesn't seem to understand NO and has to be physically removed from whatever he should not have in his mouth in order to get him to stop.

Is this normal? Should I do something else with training? So far the only casualty was a $80 computer keyboard but I soldered that back together. Like I said, I keep a good eye on him, but I HAVE to take things out of his mouth if I don't want them chewed on.

·
Registered
278 Posts
There have been other posts on what puppies can or should be expected to do.