Hungarian Vizsla Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Vizsla Pros!

My husband and I are picking up our first V in 2 weeks (and are soo excited). I have read so many blogs and books and googled so many things...but I feel like nothing is the same as hearing from vizsla owners IRL. I am a teacher so I am able to be home with our little girl for the first 2.5 months so am trying to really nail down the training and potty training.
So my question for you all...
What are the top 3 things you wish you knew the first couple of weeks of owning your vizsla? What do you think would be helpful to a new vizsla mom?

·
Registered
738 Posts
These were the things i wish i would have known more in depth:

1. adding probiotics to they diet from the get go
2. having a small crate for crate training and not starting with adult crate.
3. recognizing signs of overtiring opposed to getting enough exercise

·
Registered
1,189 Posts

Oh I really like these!!

I'll add;
1. Neck size for buying collars. ( 11" to the middle adjustment for a puppy.)
2. AKC registration comes with 30 days of pet insurance, and lifetime registration in an identification data base. You should still microchip, but having a backup tag on their collar never hurts.
3. A list of "Go to" brands of puppy food. Vizsla puppies can be a little bit finicky, and sometimes you have try different "flavors/brands" to find one that works. I've been using Orijen Large Puppy, mixed with cooked chicken.

Potty training is a few days of constant vigilance. Puppies do 4 things, eat, play, sleep, and go to the bathroom. If they're not actively engaged in the first three activities, they're getting ready to become engaged in the fourth activity.
Get them out the door often and make a really big fuss over them for going to the bathroom. You'll feel really silly doing it, but you'll be glad you did.
If you have a good solid 2.5 months to dedicate to the puppy, you're going to be just fine.