Hungarian Vizsla Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
We have a 6 month old V and 2 year old V, Sometimes when our 6 month is laying around and we want to love on him he will growl at us, He is totally different from our 2 year old, their personality's are like night and day. Is anyone experinecing this with their V's

·
Registered
436 Posts
Our V just turned 7 months and I just heard her growl for the first time this week. I didn't know if she knew how but she did when a knock on the front door woke her up. She never growls or shows any aggression toward us or anyone else for that matter.

·
Registered
794 Posts
I'm no expert & a new V owner; however, growling from any breed, at any time, would not stand in my house. I think it is appropriate to respect a dog's sleeping/space, but I will always be able to handle my dogs/be in their space at any time if necessary. Our puppy growled one time at my daughter when she was resting 1/2 on top of her bone. All 4 of her feet were 2 ft off the ground, scruff in hand, before she took her next breath! She was given a very firm "No," and we repeated "in Pumpkin's space" exercises for the next couple of days. Giving & taking bone's away by all, touching/rubbing Pumpkin when she was sleeping, eating, with toys, in her crate etc. We have not had another issue since that time about 2m ago. Please understand I am not advocating my method of dealing with this issue or suggesting you definitely have a problem. There are lots of opinions on growling, so I'm sure others will respond. My only point is, with 3 young children & lots of visitors, I insist on a dog who knows his/her place in the pack & is trustworthy under any foreseeable circumstance. I think growling can eventually escalate & has to be nipped in the bud. Best wishes to you!

·
Registered
37 Posts