Hungarian Vizsla Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

· Registered
Otis
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've got a 7-month-old male WHV who just seems a bit skinny - you can see his ribs quite clearly and can feel his backbone, and he's got a really bony backside! I'm feeding him Millies Wolfheart kibble, and he's currently getting nearly 50% more per day than their feeding guide, but he's not getting any more meat on him. He seems healthy enough with plenty of energy, and he's certainly pooing for England (my hand is barely big enough to pick it all up :oops:).

The vet is happy enough and just thinks the breed is a slender breed, and he's just a particularly slender dog, but any thoughts of actual Vizsla owners would be appreciated - I've attached some photos. The side view doesn't show his ribs as obvious as they actually are.

Thanks for any advice!

Attachments

· Registered
Ziva
122 Posts
Lots of posts about this
He does look skinny to me, but I am no expert.

The more you feed, the more he will poo, what goes in must come out as it were. Is the kiddle a puppy kibble? Younger dogs need more protein than older to help them build up the muscles to allow them to grow. Or so the internet of contradicting information tells me.

We feed ours (5m tomorrow) raw food, and the amount that comes out the other end is a lot less than with the kibble. But the price is a lot more too. See my thread a few weeks ago titled "my dog is full of s**t" when she was on kibble. There is also an age thing at play it was suggested, the digestive track is still developing etc as well as her brain, muscles, bones, etc. Literally everything.

If the vet is happy then the vet is happy and i wouldnt worry too much as long as energy levels are ok etc.

· Registered
Otis
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Lots of posts about this
He does look skinny to me, but I am no expert.