Hungarian Vizsla Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
We are very excited to welcome our new family member Red. Red is an 8wk old male V pup. We live in Perth, Australia. I have joined the forum so we can share our journey and gain some advice along the way. Here in Perth very few people know the breed. My husband and I had him flown over from interstate and have had him for 3 days. We are using a crate (mind you I am no expert on this) Night 1 we put him in the bathroom and he howled all night. For the last 2 he has slept in the crate in the doorway of our bedroom. He has been much better however is waking at 5am full of beans! We are working on basic training and so far so good. The breeder we received him from had already started so we have sit, stay and drop mastered already. Toilet training is so, so. We've had no poo accidents in the house but lots of wees. I take him out after every nap and meal and praise him lots. Any other tips or advice would be greatly appreciated.
TIA Hoody.

·
Registered
2,717 Posts
Any other tips or advice would be greatly appreciated.
Take lots of pictures. They grow up fast. Puppyhood will pass very quickly.

What are you going to give Red to do in life when he grows?

Dog's love a purpose.

Two great dog books I recommend are: "A Dog's Purpose" and " Merle's Door". There are other good how to raise a puppy books, but these two are my favorite on the relationship between dog and owner.

Lots of stuff about Vizslas on my blog. Over 450 posts over the last 30 months.

Enjoy. Happy trails.

Rod
http://redbirddog.blogspot.com

·
Registered
3,305 Posts
Welcome to Hoody and Red! I am familiar with that "5am full of beans" scenario! You will find lots of helpful information right here in the Puppies area of the Forum. It's been a while since I have raised a puppy. The main thing I can offer is that you will need plenty of patience. :) Be prepared for nipping and chewing! These are normal.