Hungarian Vizsla Forums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone!

I am new to the Vizsla forum and I am so thankful to have come across this website to learn what other vizsla owners are experiencing with their dogs. I am a first time Vizsla owner and have completely fallen in love with the breed.

I have a 6 month old male Vizsla. Our veterinarian mentioned that we should be neutering our puppy around the age of 6 months. Seems alittle young to me, and I keep reading conflicting research. I would greatly appreciate some insight into this topic on when other vizsla owners may have neutered their male pups. Pros and cons would be wonderful.

Thank you! :)

·
Administrator
4,215 Posts
6 months really is too young imo, others may disagree though. I'd wait till pup is at very least 2 years old, and his bones, plates etc have fully grown.

·
Administrator
4,215 Posts
..oh, and welcome to the forum Ollie ;)

·
Registered
291 Posts
Search neutering in the search bar on this forum and you'll find lots of information.

Why do you want to neuter your dog?

Studies have shown the best thing for overall health is to leave male dogs intact.

Having said that, lots of people find it easier to neuter their dog. If you do decide to go that route definitely wait til your dog matures into an adult - at least 2 years of age is my opinion.

·
Registered
1,044 Posts
Oh, no... :eek:

There's a lot of very convincing evidence that you shouldn't be neutering your dog at all, and that neutering actually increases the risk for cancers and other health issues.

Why do you think you need to?

·
Registered
379 Posts
Frankly, if a vet gave me that advice, I'd be looking for a new vet.

There have been three major scientific studies on spay/neuter (the Rottweiler Study, The Golden Retriever Study, and the Visza Study). All three show the devastating consequences of early neutering.

It is well worth reading these studies, or summaries of the studies.