Hungarian Vizsla Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to vizslas, and dogs for that matter. I thought I found a great breeder and put down a deposit but i'm having second thoughts after talking to my friend who's family breeds labs. The breeder just sent a message to me about the NuVet Plus vitamin that she requires to be taken by the pup for the first two years or else the 2 year hip guarantee is null. I didn't think too much about this before when she mentioned a vitamin supplement on the phone 1) because i didn't know better that a vitamin wasn't standard practice (shame on me) 2) she explained how it was just apart of her food routine for her pups and they have helped with her pup's allergies. She was very open about the issues she has seen in the vizsla breed as well as ones with her pups i.e., sometimes sensitive tummy (so opt for not having chicken as the first ingredient, go with lamb) and using gentle shampoos because vizsla skin can be more sensitive. She has all the paperwork from OFA for hips, eyes and elbows, AKC papers super responsive, educated on the breed. Everything else checkouts, but after reading about the NuVet kickbacks I feel like i should back out.

Would it be stupid to go ahead with the pup with that language in the contract?
would it be even worse to take the risk and not take the supplement and possibly run into a health issue within the first two year? The contract only includes getting a refund. Its not like i would get a new puppy, nor would i give her up anyway. Thoughts on this rookie mistake?

·
Administrator
7,998 Posts
I wouldn't sign a contract with that in it, but others might. Check with your local Vizsla club, and local Vizsla rescue, and see if they have any info on this breeder. Most of the local groups know who the good ,and bad breeders are.

·
Registered
711 Posts