Hungarian Vizsla Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hows it going, my names kyle im 20 years old. i recently brought home a vizsla puppy moose. hes almost 9 weeks old now. im interested in training him to hunt. now iv never even hunted before but ill be getting my licenses and all and hopefully going out a few times before i start training the pup. i know training wont start till hes a little older, but being as iv never done this before, i have no experience. i was wondering if there were some good books you guys could recommend on training a hunting dog? also, what type of birds would you recommend for us to hunt? i live in new jersey. am i in over my head or can this be done? thanks!!

·
Registered
91 Posts
It's not easy or cheap. Thats first. I also never hunted - grew up in IA and have seen plenty of farm/hunting dogs and how they "should" be in the field. The one thing that remains a constant, regardless of how you go about is this - if you're not having fun, neither is he. If he's not having fun...whats the point?
Is this recreational? Or do you plan to compete with him?

I think the best thing you could do is find a local gun club/kennel club and start asking for who's trained vizslas before. Not one Vizsla, but SEVERAL. Ask for references and talk to at least 3 trainers (more if possible). Attend field trials, hunt tests w/o Moose first. Just go and see how it "works". No book, DVD, etc can even come close to showing you what its supposed to look like. Really supposed to look and feel like. Also, if you can, buddy up with someone who hunts and trains regularly on/off season with a similar breed of intensity. Not always possible, but if you can hook up with a really well trained/seasoned dog - Moose will not want to be left behind. He will absolutely try to keep up.