Hungarian Vizsla Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
HI

Okay this is my first time here and I'm sad to say I am coming from a place of desperation and dispair.

We have a 8 month old male V and his behaviour is getting worse by the day. I am getting to the point where I am often in the verge of tears over his behaviour, and increasingly regret getting him in the first place. I know he is a well behaved dog, and see's me as his master but my patience is at its limits.

His problem comes from when he is off the lead. I take him to some fields for a good run around off the lead everyday, and upto the first half of his walk (this is about 30-40 minutes into the walk) our V looses the plot. He starts running up at me and biting my hands and arms really hard. I instruct him to stop, sit etc and he just gets worse in his behaviour. When I manage to get his lead on it then becomes a game of jumping up and biting the lead (and seems preferably for our V to get his teeth into my hand).

I have tried turning away from him (he just jumps up more, and then swings around to bite my hands), telling him to stop etc, keeping my hands at my side etc but to no avail. It then means a painful 20 minute walk home, as he jumps up at his lead / my hands.

Our dog trainer suggested we should hold him down to the ground until he calms down, but this makes him even worse! He becomes super-hyper at this stage.

In my dispair I am now going to put a muzzle on him so at least I can manage his jumping up without getting my hands bitten. Other than that I'm thinking of not taking him off the lead until he grows up.

Some background info...our V was the first male pup born in his litter, and always seemed to be the most mouthy in his litter (biting his peers), he has been neutered and yes he has been to puppy classes for training. He sits (mostly) when commanded, sees me as his head of pack.