Hungarian Vizsla Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

I have a few questions as a complete beginner in the bird hunting world. I am looking to get a Vizsla in about a year or so but I would like to familiarize myself with hunting birds in general. A little background...I lived in TX most of my life and we did a good amount of deer hunting but I'm not sure what kind of gun I could handle shooting birds. I'm 5'1" and 100 lbs and I want to get some suggestions on a gun to start out with. Any thoughts or preferences?

Also, any literature recommendations on getting your dog acquainted with hunting? What I am looking for is step by step and illustrations for the complete novice. I know that a mentor from a local Vizsla club would probably be the best option once I have my dog but for the time being I am just trying to prepare myself for the future so I don't go into it completely blind. I already have The Vizsla by B.C. Boggs and Winning Ways by Jack Sharkey.

Thanks!!
Jen

·
Registered
2,717 Posts
Jen,

You are doing a great job getting yourself ready for a Vizsla and wanting to get into hunting is perfect for you and your future red partner.

You have a couple good books already. There are many good books out there.

I've been blogging now for over 28 months at http://redbirddog.blogspot.com

I started at 55 years old as a perfect novice with not only bird dogs, but bird hunting.

Can you get to a field trial any time this fall? Don't know where you live, but pointing breed field trials happen all over the US and Canada.

You can go to:

http://www.akc.org/events/search/index.cfm?action=refresh_index&active_tab_row=2&active_tab_col=2&fixed_tab=7

Here you can click on FIELD TRIAL and then choose your state and find one near you. Near you might mean 150 miles away.

Hunting behind pointing breeds is a completely different experience than hunting behind other types, such as retrievers and hounds.