Hungarian Vizsla Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
And I mean VERY suddenly. This afternoon, an old friend stopped by on their way out of town, moving hundreds of miles away. They have raised this female Viszla from a newborn, and she's about 9 months old now. The deal was, either I take the dog, or they were dropping her off at a shelter, and knowing the record for our local shelter, she would have been doomed. I couldn't let this beautiful dog suffer such a fate, so I took her.

I was left with a tiny amount of food, a leash, a yard tie and stake, a not-too-clean bed, and some pig ears. Now, I'm not a novice when it comes to dogs; I was raised around hounds and pointers, and up until last year had a yellow lab and a Jack Russell. But I am now faced with a dog who doesn't know me (she's peering at me warily from the stair railings as I type), and who is VERY upset, suspicious, and I would guess very scared and missing her old family. I have been very quiet and slow around her this afternoon, but we're going to reach a point where I'm going to have to go in and out of the house (especially for more dog food), and she'll need to go out walking and doing her business.

What I need are some pointers about getting her acclimated without giving up my "alpha" status. (I live alone, by the way.) The former owners insisted that she only eats a certain (expensive) brand of food, but I know that's not always the case with this breed. She is supposedly very well house-broken, but I know there will be occasional "accidents". I know that she'll be a great companion eventually, but I want to make the transition as smooth as possible.

·
Registered
599 Posts
First of all, is she crate trained? If so, that should be an immense help. If not, I'm not sure what to tell you other than I would recommend a crate (how you introduce it at this age, I do not know).