Hungarian Vizsla Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
794 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
How does one choose what type of bird to get their V started on? Seems like quail is the way to go in my neck of the woods. Is that a regional thing based on the type of birds around or is it that there are just a lot of quail & pigeons regardless? Maybe a stupid question, but the hunting books I have don't say too much about it. Once you introduce the dog to birds, then what? What do you do with the birds? How do you plant them for the dog to find them? There is a guy not too far away who has live quail, but I am a real novice & am curious about these hunting things.

·
Registered
1,276 Posts
A lot depends on the age of the dog.

"Generally" the birds are protected in wire cages for the first few encounters, and a puppy is allowed to walk up to them and check them out.
As the pup gets older, and bolder, the birds are tethered and allowed to take short flights, or run. It gets very difficult to plant the birds very quickly as the dog will figure out that your scent, and the birds scent, are intermingled and will follow your scent to the bird, so the birds are free released and allowed a period of time to get foot scent on the ground and the dog is brought into them.
The gun is "typically" introduced by firing a blank pisto behind your back as your dog is going nuts in a field of birds. This has to be done carefully or you can end up with a gun shy dog.
Eventually everything is put together in a dogs mind to Point, Steady at wing, mark the fall, and then retrieve,

Pigeons are typically better flyers than pen raised quail. Quail when released in number a dozen or so, will call to each other and move towards one another, thus leaving a lot of foot scent. Reared properly though, quail are very strong fliers and can really rocket out.