Hungarian Vizsla Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello!

I am a newbie here to the V forum, yet quite excited to join. Last Saturday (12th) I welcomed my new 8 weeks old Vizsla, Bleu to my house. The previous owner was feeding her an Iams brand of which she gave me. She was aware that I would transition Bleu from Iams to a more quality food, Canidae. This, I have gradually done over what has now been six days. Here's my issue:

I am finding that Bleu poops rather excessively, though what I perceive as "normal" stool. She poops before her 7am feed, while eating (as though it did not all come out), and about two to three times thereafter. All of this within 45 minutes of waking. I am curious to know if this is due to the food transition???

I do not free feed her. She eats twice daily, two cups. The excessive poop happens in the morning. Sometimes she goes in the afternoon, but definitely once after her evening (4pm) feed. My concern is simply the amount of times she poops in the morning.

Any thoughts or ideas out there?

Attachments

·
Registered
58 Posts
I got my vizsla just one week before you, and the breeder was already feeding her candidae. It mighg just be their age, but my pup Bacon would poop as she was eating too. She poops about three times a day and I feed her three times a day though. I am switching her to Blue Buffalo right now, and the pooping while eating has at least gone away. I bet this is more because of her getting another week older and gaining more control of her digestive system. I woukdnt worry, as your pup gets a little older in the next couple weeks, I think she will start to be more regular. Have fun with her, these are the greatest pups ever :p

·
Registered
39 Posts
I'm not sure if this would help at all, but I had my V on 4 meals a day at 8 weeks old, up until she was about 4 months and then reduced this down to 3 for a few months and then down to 2.