Hungarian Vizsla Forums banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
147 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to this sight, and already I have learned so much great info!! One thing I still am uncertain about however, is food choice. I understand the difference between the different quality foods, and it seems as though most posters feed very high quality kibble to their pups (blue buffalo, orijen, etc.) Unfortunately, as much as I would love to be able to afford a premium food for my new vizsla puppy, tanner, I simply cannot afford it. Is Eukanuba really that bad of a choice for my puppy? It is the best I can afford at the moment. He just had his check up at the vet for second round of vaccinations, and he was deemed a very healthy puppy :) What do you all think?

·
Registered
25 Posts
My Vizsla Leia is 4 months old and was on Kirkland when we brought her home... she didnt really like it and I was told by the vet to switch... so I tried Orijen large puppy which she didnt really like either and since it was so expensive of course I was happy to try something else... next I tried blue buffalo chicken for puppies... once again, not a fan... so yesterday I went to the pawshop and spoke with the man there, Ive now switched to the all-life-stages by Canadae which she does like so far... he said she may just not be into the chicken based foods and the new bag is a mix of lamb fish chicken etc etc.

I dont know what your dog will like but I suggest buying small bags of premium food at first... I bought the 30 pound Orijen ($68), the 15 pound Blue Buffalo, and now I bought the smallest 5 pound Canadae until I figure out how shes going to do on it... Dog food for thought =)

superdogvblog.blogspot.com

·
Registered
147 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Mischa said:
Make the choice for yourself.
Do bear in mind that a lower quality food requires a larger serving, so the difference in price is not as black and white as lbs/$.