Hungarian Vizsla Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
794 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I want to say in advance how much I appreciate this forum! The members who read & respond to my posts, questions, & often long-winded remarks have been invaluable! That being said, I am feeling discouraged about my bird crazy V pup :-\
Pumpkin is 9m. She's been very biddable to date, & I am so proud of her. The small part of not being proud is a reflection on me & not Pumpkin. I am a novice, know-nothing, trying to instill good basics in a hunting pointer. Pumpkin has been very good on recall & basic commands, even in the field, until today. My husband picked up birds today, only ones left in 100rd mile radius, because it's been 6 wks + since Pumpkin has been on birds. Today P was a pup I have not seen before! She did not listen worth a ****, diving in on birds, & otherwise trying to drag me to **** & back on a check cord! P's behavior was the antithesis of anything I have ever seen or experienced. She has always been excited about birds, but today, it was like she was unhinged. I tied the check cord to the stair rail while loading the golf cart for our "field trip," and she chewed through the check cord in less than 4m. The whole time she was whining, shaking, & seemingly off in a bird world that no human "master" exists. She continues to excel in finding birds, but....I need help! I have reached out to some trainers, but in the mean time, does anyone have any suggestions? When birds are not in the picture (even when they were in the past), P listens well. Today showcased an unruly pup running hog wild! Should I be worried? Suggestions? ThanK you :) P.S. I wanted to add that when P knows we have birds, she will not eat. She will not accept food at home or treats in the field. I finally got her to eat MAYBE 1 3/4 cups today. She looks like we don't feed her--at least tonight anyway.

·
Registered
278 Posts
As you know, I know nothing about training a hunting dog!