Hungarian Vizsla Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
362 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
We adopted our beautiful vizsla girl, Pippa, about 4 weeks ago. I have been home with her since her adoption, but have to go back to work the last week in August (I am a teacher and school is starting). My husband and I are trying to figure out if we should send her to doggie daycare or if we should hire a dog-walker? For daycare, on the upside - she won't have to be in a crate for 3 hours at a time and she'll get to work out some energy. On the downside - I don't want the other dogs to be mean to her (she'll still be a puppy) or for her to pick up bad behaviors. She'll be 14 weeks when she starts. Any thoughts???

·
Registered
91 Posts
We opt for combo - crating + Day care. Most sitters walkers don't get the level of activity this breed needs and it's not in their normal scope to handle a V. At least the one's around here.

So, we do crate/kennel + 1 day doggy day care a week. Day care is the best thing since sliced bread I swear. Luckily in Denver they have really great ones - top of the line stuff like pools, basic agility training, extended training, dog personality analysis and then match up to good mates, boarding, - you name it. It just depends on how much you want to pay. I wouldnt recommend doing this every time, but try day cares out around town and ask what svcs, who works there, is there a vet on premis, what happens in emergency, etc.

Kona has her own locker and everyone knows who she is - there are 8 other Vs that go to her - CHA CHING! She gets so amped about day care and there is no sprinting, pinning, biting, excessive barking and things of that nature alllowed. Like I wrote, we have great options here.

Kona could only handle 3 hrs of day time crate if I worked her/trained/off leash time at least a couple hours before.

·
Registered
2,981 Posts