Hungarian Vizsla Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,

My husband and I brought home our Vizsla puppy Buddha a little over a week ago - he's 9 weeks old and absolutely adorable :) We did quite a bit of research on the breed before we got him, and I've also really enjoyed reading the supportive posts on this forum! What a great resource for Vizsla owners.

Now for my first question: My husband and I both work (I'm a teacher so I have a good amount of days off but work regular hours during the school year) so Buddha will be by himself for 3 to 4 hours twice a day during the school year. I did arrange my schedule to come home midday to feed/walk/play with him. The past week I've been trying to get him used to the crate. He sleeps through the night in it no problem, will eat in there, and go in quickly if I put treats in there but DOES NOT like being left in there when I leave. He has never had an accident, but the several times I've left him he throws up and seems exhausted when I get home. However, when we've left him in his X-Pen (4 by 4 feet with 5 foot tall walls) he sleeps and seems much calmer. Should we keep conditioning him to stay in his crate during the day or should we let him stay in his X-Pen if he seems more comfortable? I realize eventually we may need to put a roof on it for his own safety. I know that V's can be prone to separation anxiety so I want to do what is best for him without worrying myself sick in the process!

I would greatly appreciate any advice! Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
40 Posts
i kept bailey in the crate during night and in a small space blocked off with a baby gate during day, i felt it was better for her not sure why now but i do remember her having a wee flaky getting locked in crate during day and she also seemed much calmer!

·
Registered
278 Posts