Hungarian Vizsla Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
We are using a crate for Ziggy at night. He is about 10 months old. Some nights he does fairly well. Lately he has been whining and whimpering at night. We have been keeping it in the family room. He gets regular daily exercise.

I do not use a crate for our other dog (the only other dog I've owned) so I have no experience with crating.

Where do you keep your crates? I think if he was in the same room as someone in the family or near our other dog he would be more at ease.

I also noted a lot of you put treats/toys in the crate which is not something I have done consistently. I'm sure that would help. Thanks for your help. I've got to get more sleep!

·
Registered
147 Posts
We also have 2 dogs, one that was crated until she was 2, and now our (almost) 12 week old V. In the beginning, we were leaving tanner's crate in our bedroom because that's where he was sleeping at night. I would then come home at lunch to find poop everywhere, even though he had been going once if not twice in the morning before I left for work.

We were worried that he was getting so upset about being alone in his crate that he would make a mess. So we decided to move the crate into our living room right across from our great Dane Jane's bed, and we have been poop free since :)

We had thought 1 of 2 things could happen - either Tanner would be upset that he couldn't play with Jane, or it would ease him knowing she was there with him during the day. Lucky for us it has helped BIG time! Good luck to you!

·
Registered
2,981 Posts
Normal rules don't apply to Vizsla dogs, IMO.
Usually, it is recommended to keep the crate in another room.
We keep the crate with us in the master bedroom - much better that way (for our V and for us).
Our previous dog never got to stay with us because we trained that way ;D

·
Registered
7 Posts