Hungarian Vizsla Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, I'm an experienced dog owner, through the years I've had lots of different breeds and mongrels, but never a Vizsla before, so I'm not sure if this is normal.
She is 9 weeks old and appears to not hear anything but close loud sounds and she looks like she doesn't even know where they are coming from. Other sounds such as our loud doorbell- no reaction, whistle - no reaction, clapping - no reaction, calling or any oral sounds - no reaction, etc etc.
I'm getting more concerned by the day that she is extremely hard of hearing or deaf, but is this perhaps just what the breed is like, eg ignores you completely? If so, i honestly cannot see how she can be trained by me, without her reacting to sounds.
I've had gundogs before and they were super quick to train, so I'm not a novice. I've had some success getting her to toilet outside and sit, but these have been by hand gestures alone and bribes of treats, which I have to stick under her nose first and she then follows.
Can anyone please give me a clue if this sounds normal or not for a Vizsla, as I feel that if she isn't deaf then she is nothing like any dog I've ever encountered!!
I have a vets appointment tomorrow, but any experience input is gratefully received.
Thanks in advance

·
Registered
83 Posts
I once had a deaf Dalmatian. We were advised not to keep her as we had young kids at the time, and the trainers/breeder felt that if the dog ran out into the road, the kids would follow to try to stop her.... We gave Mollie up and welcomed home Phoebe her sister instead. Many animals with white coats can run to deafness. How we confirmed the deafness was to wait until she was asleep in her crate, and then make a loud banging noise with two metal bowls and watched....there was no reaction, so that confirmed it to us, and sadly we let her go. She was rehomed with someone who was more able to cope with her abilities.