Hungarian Vizsla Forums banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

· Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, I’m new to the scene here. I live in England and with my 15 month old female Vizsla rescue dog (Ivy). She is my second Vizsla but she is an only dog as my other very sadly passed away a while ago. I got her at 6 months. Training and background: I rehomed Ivy from her previous owners at 6 months old. Her first 6 months of life is almost a complete mystery, the owners could give very little information regarding where she was purchased from- the breeder info they gave me didn’t add up timeline wise to the litters they’ve had. The owners friend gave her up to them at about 5 months old. Before that I don’t know what really happened with her. All I know for sure is that she was living in a shed with no human or animal interaction for at least a month if not longer before I got her. She was very underweight and had ZERO training. When I say that I mean.. she didn’t even know what her name was. Anyways, I have almost trained every bad habit out of her (she still jumps up at people.. I’m trying my best with that one) but the reason for me posting is actually something which has changed in her since I’ve had her. At 6 months she was really fearful of dogs when on lead (and other things) but she never showed any aggression and she actually really enjoyed meeting new dogs. Once she developed confidence she made many dog friends on and off lead and loved playing with dogs at the park or in the forests/beaches. My issue now is that Ivy has been attacked 2 times by small dogs and now she does not trust them at all when they play with her. She fully trust big dogs and will play with ANY happy boisterous dog. I think small dogs don’t like her because she hasn’t learned how to properly play nicely/gently with small dogs and so they snap and go for her in fear. Based on knowing that I don’t let her play with small dogs off lead now because she’s just too much dog for them. My issu